MEF Webinar Podcast – The Year Ahead

Last week MEF hosted a webinar to discuss the findings of the recent Global Consumer Survey in-depth, as well as offering predictions for the mobile commerce and content market in 2014. Moderated by MEF Global Chair Andrew Bud, our expert guest speakers included analysts and journalists from around the world: Olivier Bernard, Vice President, EMEA - AppAnnie Tim Green, Editor in Chief - Mobile Money Revolution David Gosen, European MD Digital, Online and Mobile - The  Nielsen Company Fernando Paiva, Editor - Mobile Time, Brazil We’ve captured the panel discussion as a podcast for … [Read more...]

Global Consumer Survey 2012 – Register now for the Webinar

Date: Wednesday 28th November Time: 11AM GMT / 12PM CET / 1PM South Africa / 2PM Qatar / 4.30PM India / 7PM Singapore Register now As part of the 2012 Global Consumer Survey release MEF is hosting a one-hour webinar to present the key findings from this year’s 10-country study and to discuss the opportunities and challenges presented by the survey. Moderated by report author Tim Green of Mobile Money Revolution, MEF’s research partner On Device Research will present the findings of the 2012 behavioural and usage mobile content and commerce survey, offering a deep-dive into the data … [Read more...]

MEF Global Webinar Series

With speakers from the UK VAS Regulator PhonepayPlus, MEF members Silverstreet and KPMG, the recent MEF Asia Webinar sought to explore whether pre-emptive positive action by the industry is the best form of defence against reputational harm, and what form such action might take. The recording and slide deck is available to download now from the MEF website. MEF North Americas also hosted a fascinating webinar exploring the phenomenon of Patent Trolls and Patent issues within the Mobile ecosystem. Moderated by MEF North America Chair Gary Schwartz, the North America webinar was led by guest … [Read more...]

Register Now for the MEF North America Webinar – Patent Wars

Tuesday, October 23rd 20121-2pm ET / 10-11am PT / 6-7 pm GMTRegister NowMany companies in North America and beyond are facing assertions by patent trolls making claims on their technology. The mobile industry is a clear target for extracting licensing fees. Increased media surrounding the value and use of patents as well as focus on high stake lawsuits and patent abuses means your business needs to ask whether patent protection is required.The issue is affecting the mobile content and commerce industry today. MEF North America asks, how should businesses respond to threats by so-called patent … [Read more...]

Sign up for our next webinar – Monday 16th July

Hot on the heels of the recent webinar from MEF LatAm on the Code of Conduct for VAS in Brazil, MEF Middle East is set to host another on line thought leadership session on the charged topic of the challenges facing network carriers in the face of OTT content and services.We have some fantastic guest speakers from both camps, listed below, including representatives from the Qtel Group and Telefonica discussing the advances by network operators to roll out Rich Communication Services (RCS) strategies, and from OTT service providers Nimbuzz and Vopium who will be sharing their market … [Read more...]

MEF Asia Webinar – What Crisis? Operators embrace the OTT Challenge

MEF Asia is kicking off 2012 with a fast-paced thought leadership webinar on the 30th January on the challenge to mobile operators of OTT content and services.Date: Monday 30th January, 2012Time: 4pm (Singapore)Register for this FREE MEF Webinar nowWith the advent of the Smartphone, Asia-Pacific mobile connections is set to reach 4.2 billion in 2016, while the region’s mobile voice revenues will start to decline by 2014, says Ovum research. Mobile Operators face major challenges from the so called “over-the-top” players competing with traditional business models. As Telcos attempt to defend … [Read more...]

MEF Middle East Webinar – HTML5 vs Native Apps

Topic: HTML5 vs. Native Apps in defining mobile application strategiesDate: Wednesday 14th DecemberTime: 14:00 (UAE)Join us next week for a MEF Middle east webinar discussion examining the different approaches to mobile applications afforded by HTML5 and native applications.Register NowThere has been increased discussion around HTML5 in recent months prompting content publishers to question and rethink their mobile application strategies. While many tend to revert to building native apps as a tried and tested solution, there is another camp supporting HTML5 development due to the benefits … [Read more...]